top of page
Search
  • Senior Reflection

Can Failure be Valuable?

by Mario Lopez.


Mario faced challenges that taught him the value of failure.

It was a light and clear day, a Saturday, when I first felt it. Before this day the well of motivation had run dry. Determination, inspiration, any -nation were not present. The project was not going well. Not that it had failed –yet– but the inventor had hit a wall. No longer did he want to see his project succeed. Yes, that man was me. See, the problem was a common one, I simply lost passion. My project seemed insignificant, boring, and at times pointless.


I wanted to change the world. I wanted to make something new. No matter how bad I wanted it, the truth is I wasn’t able to do it yet, and that’s okay. What really hurt me, was my own ambition and lack of self support. If I wasn’t able to change the world, I had failed, and when I failed there was no good to come from it.


“I wanted to change the world. I wanted to make something new. No matter how bad I wanted it, the truth is, I wasn’t able to do it yet."

Well, this day was different. This day wasn’t negative and I felt it. Like sun rays bathing a wilting flower. That day, I went around town hunting down and buying my project materials. Wood, Pipes, Metals, and Fidget Spinner. For this day, I was going to build a model of my perpetual motion generator.


From the moment my saw hit the plastic pipes, and the metal was warped into place, I felt a drive rev up within me. The excitement of seeing my project come to life kept me going that day. That is the importance of the project. Ultimately, my first version of my machine didn't really work quite right,


Failure is success. I still have trouble understanding that. Even in the harshest failure, there is something good. Soon, I would forget all the positive feelings from that Saturday. My project would dwindle and die. The motivation I felt that day should have permeated throughout the entirety of my project, but letting failure get to me prevented that.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page