top of page
Search
  • Senior Reflection

Changing the Narrative

In 2017, Tyler the Creator was asked why his main character in his new show titled “The Jellies!” was a black American. He quickly defended his character selection by asking the interviewer to name five black cartoon characters who were protagonists and not simply the comedic relief or sidekick of a show. The interviewer could not name a single character because there wasn’t any. Tyler quickly said that this is exactly why he didn’t just make him black but also he made sure the character didn’t own a gun, didn’t play basketball nor behaved violently. Tyler decided to stray away from the negative generalization black Americans were associated with in order to assure his audience of color who didn't have these stereotypical interests would feel understood and accepted.


At first glance, the goal of my project is to obtain more screen time or lead roles for actors of color and it partially is. My project though aims to create content that doesn't depict people of color confronting issues they are associated with. I wanted my work to create a new perspective. My films were intended to spread awareness and give POC teens the coming of age movie that was written for them by someone like them. 


I’ve been both a witness and a victim of the false narrative people of color are associated with. For years I have noticed the stories of my people being retold on multiple occasions, but it feels almost as if it's the same story except now they’ve given the characters different names. I knew attempting to take back control of the false narrative that currently defines my people wasn’t going to be easy. I had to face the fact that it never hurts to start small. I dedicated myself to writing all my stories down. I would sneak snips and bits of my pieces into speech and debate competitions and review the criticism or praise I would receive from my judge and audience. I remember I used to even present my full work to my teachers and classmates but this caused them to ask worryingly if my stories were based on personal experience.


This project made me realize that whenever I write about myself or my life, it tends to always be indirect. My stories become a reflection of my reality as I unintentionally turn my life into fiction. It isn’t until I have finished writing that I realize the stories I tell are my own. Once I realized I have produced somewhat of an autobiography through work, I didn’t want to share it anymore. I quickly became embarrassed and shy because I didn’t want people to know the truth. I witnessed first hand how my stories changed one of my best friend’s perceptions of me. They quickly became worried about my personal life and I seemed to be unable to convince them I was fine.  


Together we can take back the control of the narrative that defines us one story at a time. 

I knew right away I had failed. I wanted my stories to inspire but I guess all I had done was make people worry. I knew I had to solve this issue so I rewrote most of my work and made sure every piece had a very important message woven into it. I wanted people to understand that despite what feels predestined, they could continue to grow into whoever they wanted to be. Overall my Junior and Seminar project has allowed me to find peace with myself and determine my career path. My project would have surely met with a different outcome in another reality but I’m glad that I was able to create what I did. My stories will help POC like me find peace or even inspire them to tell their own story. Together we can take back the control of the narrative that defines us one story at a time. 



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page