top of page
Search
  • Senior Reflection

Don't Work at Walmart

Updated: May 15, 2019

by Ramses Garza


Ramses and his guitar at Chinquapin.

The most difficult part of this whole project was time management. During senior year, I got a part time job to simply pay for my expensive car insurance. I thought I would be able to handle work and school, but it proved to be a lot harder than I thought.


On most Fridays I was working after school until ten and on weekends I was working eight hour shifts that would sometimes also end at ten. I would always come home tired and although I took on such a simple task of being a cart pusher, I would still feel exhausted after doing the same task in the hot sun for eight hours. Although I could’ve asked for less hours, I was always hesitant to do so in fear that I wouldn’t have enough money to pay the bills I had to pay.


Time was always an issue and even on days where I did come home “early,” at around six after working an eight hour shift. When I would get home I would have no motivation on working on my junior/ senior project. I used the time I did have free to relax or prioritize my other academic work rather than investing significant time on this important project. Because of the limited practice time, I couldn’t perform all four songs that I originally wanted to play.


“I thought I would be able to handle work and school, but it proved to be a lot harder than I thought.”

Regardless, this situation of working and being in school taught me after the project was over how to more effectively manage my time even if I had limited time available. I learned that from the beginning of taking on a big project, I need to look at all potential troublesome factors and consider them in my time management rather than assuming everything will go well on its own without me worrying about other factors. After doing this junior/ senior project, I feel more prepared on the time management factor for future projects I decide to tackle.


Also, I will not work at Walmart again, and I don’t recommend anyone work there.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page