top of page
Search
  • Senior Reflection

Enjoy the Successes

During my senior presentation I didn’t recognize what it meant. I wasn’t processing the finale of it all. How I have worked two hard years making an elective with a lesson plan for every Wednesday, having to do research on the side to find my students resources. It didn’t cross my mind that I already wrote the 50 note cards of research regarding career indecisiveness. It didn’t cross my mind that I wrote a 9 page research paper on the topic of career indecisiveness. It didn’t cross my mind that I have filled out all the progress notes Sarah assigned to us. It didn’t cross my mind that I have finished with my junior-senior project. 


During the beginning of junior year there is so much hype around the idea of establishing your project that it can feel like you're in that mentality for the entire project. Fantasizing about the end goal can leave someone forgetting about what they have already done. During my project I had many successes that flew over my mind because I was worried about making a project worthy not only for Senior Seminar, but for the students of my class. But I can’t believe I was able to have the finished product I have now.


I’m pretty happy how it turned out at the end. I had a class of six students, who from the six, two were able to find opportunities to do during the summer or during their time in Chinquapin. The class also had many partners come out to give presentations about opportunities and we had an alumni come out and give a presentation about budgeting. The whole class coming into existence was a success that I could not see happening when I was a junior year. The partnership with Keiddrick was very unexpected, but I believe it allowed the project to flourish into what it is today. This project has had many unexpected twists and turns with us having to adapt to many changes.


Partnering with a ton of people for collaboration can cause your project to reach heights you never thought it could.


If I had to give advice to the junior class who will begin their senior projects next year here is what I would say. Be adaptable because you could plan for the entire year like Keiddrick and I did for the class and still have to make many different changes, messing up many plans, but we were able to adapt. Be happy about your successes otherwise you will be torturing yourself about not accomplishing things when really you have already done a ton. And lastly, partnering with a ton of people for collaboration can cause your project to reach heights you never thought it could. I enjoyed doing my senior project and I promise you will enjoy working on yours and look at your completed project with pride and fulfillment.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page