top of page
Search
  • Senior Reflection

Feet Taught Me a Lesson

Listen, I despise speaking to people. Not because they’re terrible, but because I get anxious socializing. This project, it didn’t let me be that way. I was forced to talk to all types of people in order to pass the class! From interviewing professors and professionals to translating at a clinic to hosting a health professions fair. Now you might think that I absolutely hated this class and my project for putting me outside my comfort zone, but the truth is that I needed it. 


This project helped me focus on my future goals and gave me a headstart to knowing what I really wanted to do. One of the most edifying experiences was volunteering at the clinic. The first day I went to volunteer, I was assigned the task of translating. I had never translated before other than for my parents, however, I was excited to accept the challenge. I was placed into a room mid-conversation and surprisingly became comfortable because translating was something that I had done my entire life. I saw the relief from both the patient who only spoke Spanish and the nurse who only spoke English. I translated for the same class four different times that evening and learned a lot from the repetition of the same phrases.

 

I learned about how diabetes affects blood flow and healing and how quickly things can escalate. After the class, the nurse would do a quick foot consultation to teach the patients how they should be checking their feet for any redness, swelling, or cut. Feet. I was literally in a room where I would look at… and smell people’s feet. It wasn’t the ideal circumstances, but I was learning. 


Feet. I was literally in a room where I would look at… and smell people’s feet. It wasn’t the ideal circumstances, but I was learning. 


By going to the clinic, I realized the need for bilingual health professionals, especially in a community with primarily Spanish-speaking inhabitants. I felt like since I was bilingual, being a doctor in a community clinic in Houston would be helpful. This even motivated me to learn new languages to be able to communicate effectively with every patient. My dad always said, “Si va a hacer algo, hagalo bien.” I have reminded myself of his words every time I set goals and commit to them.


My dad always said, “Si va a hacer algo, hagalo bien.”


So, I tell you. Take advantage of every opportunity that arises even if it’s a mandatory assignment or you have to be uncomfortable. You will gain experience, skills, and you will get to know yourself and how you work best. I am thankful for this project and being able to discover what’s most important to me, not necessarily foot exams, but helping those I can right now and in the future. 

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page