top of page
Search
  • Senior Reflection

Finding a Future Career

by Janae Flakes


Janae was in the 8th Grade Writing and Literature Department at Breakthrough Houston

Initially, when deciding what I wanted to do for my junior/senior project, I knew that I wanted to do something that involved teaching. I was thinking of starting a summer program for kids in my neighborhood. My target audience was low income students, first generation students, and students of color.


My idea was that if the kids in my neighborhood had something fun and productive to do over the summer, they would be less likely to end up in gangs or in bad situations. As I began looking into the logistics of running a summer program, I realized that it was going to be more than I would be able to accomplish in such a small amount of time.


“Thanks to my junior/senior project, I discovered a career field that I would like to be in for the rest of my life.”

After much deliberation, I decided that I still wanted to do something that involved teaching. I was then introduced to Breakthrough Houston by my Seminar teacher, Sarah. I was hesitant to apply to the program because I thought that it would be too much for me. I was very introverted, anxious, and insecure. However, I decided to step out of my comfort zone and try something new.


Breakthrough was challenging. I had to commit 8 weeks of my summer to the program. I had to wake up at 5 a.m. and I often stayed awake until midnight, even on the weekends. However, I learned so much from the program.               


I gained confidence, I gained friends, I became willing to try new things and I learned the importance of a growth mindset. I am now more extroverted and open minded.

During my time at Breakthrough, I realized that I have a passion for teaching and education reform. I have decided to major in Secondary Education and complete the steps necessary to become a teacher. Thanks to my junior/senior project, I discovered a career field that I would like to be in for the rest of my life.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page