top of page
Search
  • Senior Reflection

Learning to Teach and Speak

By Arelly Cisneros


Arelly teaches a lesson on deaf culture to a group of 8th grade students.

When I first decided to lesson plan I thought to myself, “ Alright, I got this.” I forgot completely how horrible I was at public speaking. But that realization didn’t hit me until later.


The first night I sat down to create lesson plans I was in front of my computer thinking about where to start my lesson plans and then it hit me. . . I had no clue how to create lesson plans; therefore one afternoon I was speaking to Mrs. Scrutchin about how I felt lost in the process of creating lesson plans, and she advised me to meet with Sarah.


I set up a meeting with Sarah in order to get a general information on the creation of lesson plans. When I met with Sarah, I got so much information, and I felt ready to create my own lesson plans. I created two lesson plans for the current 8th and 9th grade students.


Once I felt like my lesson plans were ready I set up meetings with Lindsay and Mike to go over my lesson plans and see if they would approve of them. Through various meetings with Lindsay and Mike I was able to come up with different activities to incorporate into my lesson plan that would help keep the students engaged.  After a couple meetings of getting feedback and revising my lesson plans I felt like I was finally ready to present them.


Once the dates were set and I had finished my powerpoints for both grade levels, I began to practice and that's when it hit me. My public speaking abilities were not that great and here I was setting myself up for a breakdown. But through my project and after teaching the middle schoolers four times, my public speaking abilities have improved significantly.


"After teaching the middle schoolers four times, my public speaking abilities have improved significantly.”

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page