top of page
Search
  • Senior Reflection

New School, New Challenges

by Elena Guzman


Elena transferred to Chinquapin as a junior and reflects on the challenges.

As I knelt anxiously under my bed, with blankets glowing in the laptop screen light, I realized that I should have finished my Harvey research assignment weeks ago. This was only the beginning of many more seminar assignments that I would unfortunately be turning in late.


I truly did want to be timely person when it came to my junior/ senior seminar class assignments, but procrastination took a toll on my academic life. However, pursuing my two year project has been an incredibly noteworthy adventure that has caused me to re-evaluate my time and success here at Chinquapin Preparatory School.


“My first year at Chinquapin was my junior year, and I was in for a rude awakening.”

My first year at Chinquapin was my junior year, and I was in for a rude awakening given the standard of grading and the heavy load of assignments that the school offered. So when Sarah told us to choose a topic to make a two year project out of, I was instantly drawn to the idea of pursuing a hobby. I made myself think it was a hobby because if I thought of it as a legitimate class, I would lose interest in my topic. I chose the litigation behind a website called Backpage because I was already interested in online human trafficking.


Although I absolutely adore Sarah, I found it extremely frustrating to write a sample lit review, one of our first big tasks. I found it difficult mostly because I had not grasped the concept of academic writing. But even though found it frustrating and pointless, it led me to develop my academic writing for my final lit review.


This project made me develop my professional relationships with doctors in that field of study. I was able to confidently cold call organizations for information that wasn't clarified on their websites. This skill did help me a lot when it came to cold calling universities for questions on financial aid and scholarships. All of the tedious assignments that were assigned helped me someway for the future in college, so I thank Sarah for her effort in the class.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page