top of page
Search
  • Senior Reflection

The Creative Process

by Miller Galvis


Creating a song using Logic requires a lot of technical knowledge.

We had just three and a half weeks before our entire album was due. Josue and I had almost nothing done for our project, other than really basic drafts for some beats. The ideas and the album structure were hard to come up with, and we could feel the pressure and stress starting to take over.


Despite our unstable foundation, we finally found the courage and inspiration to start our EP. We had been thoroughly studying and analyzing the strategies to effectively produce compelling songs on Logic Pro X for about a year. However, I realized that those complex structures wouldn't work in my case, because following a professional structure would be more time consuming and inefficient to execute in less than 3 weeks.


I noticed that songs that came to me spontaneously and randomly sounded more compelling and sincere than those that I created through following the structures shown on Youtube tutorials.


“I learned that letting myself be inspired by personal experiences and connections helped me work more effectively and creatively than if I worked on something without passion or through following a structure.”

One big example of this was when I produced the song “is it worth” during my sign-in duty in the gym on a Wednesday night. I was super into an artist called Tokio Mayers, and during that period I kept listening to some of his most popular songs. As we all know, the gym gets pretty crowded at times, and people start screaming and making noises (mostly when Aldo is in there). The noises of the people combined with the beautiful piano melodies of Tokio Meyers gave me the idea.


I found a simple piano melody and recorded the ambiance created in the gym to provide a more natural and genuine sound for the song. Instead of following an established, specific structure, I let myself be inspired by the moments I was living. This song took me around two hours to produce, rather than the four or more hours I knew I would have taken if I had chosen to follow a more complex and structured path.


I learned that letting myself be inspired by personal experiences and connections helped me work more effectively and creatively than if I worked on something without passion or through following a structure.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page