top of page
Search
  • Senior Reflection

The Value of Our Work

by Abigail Castillo


The poster for Abigail's inclusive library event

Throughout my project process, I did not look back and reflect like I did at the very end of my project. I analyzed my mistakes and my strengths, but I did not realize the work I had done and the importance of it. Once I finished my final presentation, I realized how much work I did. For me, it was comforting to see how much I did. I may not have completely done what I said I would, but I realized that I was successful in the sense that I completed a lot of work for an important project.


I had spent two years working to accomplish a project. I made countless phone calls and emails. I also created multiple lesson plans, flyers, and an infographic as a part of my project. I had already rescheduled the event I was supposed to have at the library so when the time came for me to actually have my event, I was excited.


Unfortunately for my first event, the library did not advertise for me as they had said and the person who had been helping me was not there, so my project suffered. I showed up to the library two hours early with my book and lesson plan. I spoke to the staff and informed me that they did not know I was supposed to have my event. In shock, I asked if I could still do it and they agreed. At the time there were only three kids whose parents let them stay for my event. They were all toddlers and they did not have a neurological disorder, so my lesson plan and activities were not fit for them. I did what I could and used this as a learning lesson for my second event.


Before my second event, I called the other library to see if the person who had been helping me would be there. He told me that he would not be there, and I was slightly disappointed but also prepared.


“I may not have completely done what I said I would, but I realized that I was successful in the sense that I completed a lot of work for an important project."

The day of my second event comes and I got to the library an hour early again with my book and lesson plan. I was greeted with confused faces, and it occurred to me that they did not know that I was supposed to be there. I was honestly angry that I had left the last thing I had to do to the library and they did not do it and because of that I didn’t get my targeted audience. I had a good time with the kids that were there, and I could actually use my lesson plans in some way.


It was a moment of disappointment and learning. Although I did not completely have an inclusive storytime and arts and crafts event for kids with autism, I had an amazing experience. Upon my reflection of my project and what I accomplished, I realized the amount of work I did to complete a goal. As I finished my final presentation, I made a slide about my reflection and came to the realization that I my hard work paid off whether I thought so. The truth is that I accomplished more than I thought which was empowering to acknowledge.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page